Nov 10, 2020

Stewart elevated to Cabinet, with mines role on the table

Stewart elevated to Cabinet, with mines role on the table

Member for Townsville Scott Stewart is among three new ministers Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has appointed to State Cabinet.

Mr Stewart, Member for Nudgee Leanne Linard and Member for Gaven Meaghan Scanlon have been named to replace three ministers who retired at the election on October 31.

The retiring ministers included Natural Resources, Mines and Energy Minister Anthony Lynham as well as Coralee O’Rourke and Kate Jones.

Mr Stewart has been touted as a contender for the mines portfolio, but Ms Palaszczuk has yet to release full details of the new-look ministry.

The Premier said the new ministers would join their Cabinet colleagues to hit the ground running.

“Having managed the health risks of COVID we are able to concentrate on our economic recovery,” she said.

“The new ministry will immediately get back to work implementing Queensland’s Economic Recovery Plan.”

Ms Palaszczuk announced that Deputy Premier Steven Miles would become Minister for State Development, Local Government, Infrastructure and Planning.

Treasurer Cameron Dick adds Investment to his portfolio, while Yvette D’Ath will become the Minister for Health and Ambulance Services.

Parliament will resume in the final week of November followed by budget sittings in December.

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk (second from left) with the new additions to Cabinet – Leanne Linard, Meaghan Scanlon and Scott Stewart.