Oct 20, 2020

Nominations called for Geotech of the Year

Nominations called for Geotech of the Year

The Bowen Basin Underground Geotechnical society has called for nominations for Geotechnical Practitioner of Year 2020.

Nomination criteria:
Practicing Geotechnical Engineer who has significantly contributed to the discipline through their involvement in one or more of the following areas:

  • Advancement in the field of geotechnical engineering
  • Presenting at BBUGS meetings
  • Attendance at BBUGS meetings
  • Council member of BBUGS, BOHOGS, AGS, ACG, AUSIMM or other relevant society
  • Conference Papers or Presentations in 2019-2020 year
  • Organising committees for conferences
  • ACARP committee, ACARP monitor
  • University Lectures or Advisory Board
  • Thesis supervision
  • Relevant awards, scholarships of certificates
  • Mentoring of young geotechnical engineers

Nomination process:

  • Nominations to be sent direct to our Chairman Gavin Lowing (GLowing@peabodyenergy.com)
  • Individuals may self nominate or nominate another person
  • Nominations to include: Name, Company, Position, Contributions made and achievements attained in the field of underground coal mine geotechnical engineering over the past 12-18 months
  • Nominations close 15 November, 2020

Award process:
The Practitioner of the Year award will be presented at the joint BBUGS / BOHOGS Suppliers Day on 10th December 2020