Feb 01, 2021

NERA announces regional hydrogen technology clusters

NERA announces regional hydrogen technology clusters

A network of 13 regional hydrogen technology clusters is being created across Australia in a move spearheaded by National Energy Resources Australia (NERA).

The establishment of the regional hydrogen technology clusters announced today follows the conclusion of a seed funding selection program started by NERA in September.

NERA has also been able to attract funding commitments from state and territory governments around the country, as well as industry financial support.

In Queensland, the funded project is the Queensland Hydrogen Industry Cluster (H2Q) in Brisbane, led by Regional Development Australia Brisbane on behalf of 38 organisations.

“RDA Brisbane and its industry, research and government partners are excited to progress the establishment of the Queensland Hydrogen Cluster, known as H2Q, to help execute and realise Australia’s National Hydrogen Strategy and the Queensland Hydrogen Industry Strategy,” RDA Brisbane chair Lisa Liang said.

NERA chief executive officer Miranda Taylor said the clusters were a crucial step in building the skills, capacities and commercialisation opportunities necessary to unlock Australia’s enormous potential to create a globally competitive hydrogen industry.

“These regional clusters, all of which have the support of their state and territory governments, have been established around key, existing hydrogen projects and technology supply chains in strategic locations that have a demonstrated capacity to support them,” she said.

Cluster nameCluster leads/membersInitial NERA, state
government and industry
ACTCanberra Region Hydrogen
Technology Cluster
Evoenergy, ANU, Smart Energy
Council, ACT Renewables hub
NSWHunter Hydrogen Technology
University of Newcastle and 14
NTTerritory Hydrogen ClusterDarwin Innovation Hub along with
NT Govt, Energy Club NT and CDU
QldQueensland Hydrogen Industry
Cluster (H2Q)
Regional Development Australia
Brisbane, on behalf of 38 orgs
SASouth Australian Hub-to-Hub (“SA-
H2H”) Hydrogen Technology Cluster
EfficientSeePty Ltd and Mumford
TasBell Bay Hydrogen Technology
Bell Bay Advanced Manufacturing
Zone (BBAMZ)
VicGippsland Hydrogen Technology
Committee for Gippsland on
behalf of 64 supporting
Clayton Hydrogen Technology
GrapheneX, CSIRO, Swinburne,
Hydrogen 2.0, Cleantech Japan,
Greater Geelong Hydrogen
Technology Cluster
Mallee Hydrogen Technology
Mallee Regional Innovation
WAWestern Australian Hydrogen
Technology Cluster
Hydrogen Society of Australia on
behalf of consortium
Karratha Hydrogen Technology
City of Karratha with support from
Yara Pilbara Fertilisers
Peel and South-West Metro
Hydrogen Technology Cluster
Murdoch University and six